Two exercises to help you with your writing life

It is so interested how I also like reading about writing. A lot. I’m reading about writing much, much more than I’m actually writing. It’s actually my favourite and most useful way of procrastination, thinking that at least, I have done something ‘useful’ if there were not letters on the screen….

The Thesis Whisperer

I love books on writing. I have many, many books on the subject, but I continue to buy more because, well – I simply can’t resist them. Just as it’s more relaxing to watch people cook and do gardening on the TV, often reading about writing is so much nicer than actually doing it.

to do listOne of the reasons reading books about writing is so much fun is that they often include writing exercises. I LOVE reading about writing exercises even more than I love reading about grammar and sentence structure, despite the fact that I rarely, if ever, voluntarily sit down to do one myself.

I will, however, happily do a writing exercise in a large group setting and enjoy every second of it. I am sure I am not alone in this. The most insanely popular writing workshop we run ANU is the Thesis Bootcamp, an idea we imported…

View original post 1,172 more words

Leave a Reply

